the hidden success killer

Dennis Tröger
3 min readJan 8, 2024

For six days now, I am officially unemployed.

I quit my job to build a digital empire aligned with my values.
Some call it crazy, some brave. I’ll leave that up to you.

My goal: Help 1,000 individuals quit their jobs by the end of 2025.

Whilst I made a big step forward, I realized something:
I will most likely fail.
Don’t get me wrong, I am not fear-free. Numerous fears accompany me on my journey:

  • Fear of failure.
  • Fear of “I will starve.”
  • Fear that no one will listen.
  • Fear of “what will others think?”
  • Fear of not being good enough.

When people ask me, I usually downplay those fears. I only share them with very close friends. Who wants to appear fearful after ditching a well-paid job?

But fear is not what will ultimately make me fail with my endeavor. My failure will be triggered by something much deeper.

It all has to do with sharks.

Did you know that the earliest shark fossils are 490 million years old? That’s an absurdly long period of time.

There have been several mass extinctions since then. But sharks weren’t too bothered by them-how can that be?

Some species of sharks live fairly deep in the ocean. When hell breaks loose at the top, they don’t care. They simply feast on the dead in the upper segments.

And this is the perfect analogy for why I will fail-if I don’t change.

When I’m in a good mood, I have 100% certainty my plan will work: I will build an online empire.

My narrative about myself is highly positive during those times.
But when times get tough, my “hidden narrative” erupts: It’s what I truly think about myself when I take a second to reflect. All the nasty thoughts come from there:

  • I won’t make it.
  • I am not good enough.
  • I am not smart enough.
  • Others are so much more successful.
  • And many more…

If I can’t overcome this hidden narrative, I am destined to fail because I will self-sabotage.
When I first had this thought, one sentence popped into my mind:

Success is a mind game.

Successful people have their beliefs, thoughts, and habits under control. They are not necessarily smarter, but they have a positive hidden narrative.

To reach your goals, you must change this hidden narrative.

Again: Success is a mind game.

But here’s the game-changing opportunity-we CAN overcome this destructive inner voice!

We have the power to control our mindset and beliefs. To write a bold new narrative script filled with positivity and belief in ourselves.

Join me next week when I share the three tactics I am going to use, which helped me make the bold move of ditching my job.

You’ve already taken the first courageous step by opting out of societal norms and choosing your path.

Help me to improve:

On a scale of 1–10 how much did this impact you?

Best

- Dennis

Originally published at https://www.dennistroeger.com on January 8, 2024.

--

--